Linking two panels on one dashboard, with two different sources and selectors

I am new to Grafana, so please understand this, and perhaps ask clarifying questions.

• What Grafana version and what operating system are you using?
    v9.1.7 in EKS (AlpineLinux I think). OS is irrelevant.

• What are you trying to achieve?
    Two panels in one dashboard that display related information should change at the same time.
    The information in Panel-A and Panel-B are related but ceom from different sources with different ‘keys’ (not grafana term - just meaning one is custom var and one is datasource var)

=========
    how to have ONE dropdown that changes BOTH panels

Panel-A
    Zabbix data source, visualization depends on a CUSTOM VAR with fixed values like (ProductionUSA, ProductionEU, ProductionCA)
    This panel works fine by itself, with one dropdown

Panel-B
    MySQL datasource. Visualization depends on which Mysql DB is queried, as determined by the dropdown from the MySQL datasource (SpoolDB-US, SpoolDB-EU, SpoolDB-CA)
    This panel works fine by itself, with the dropdown

This doesn’t seem to be Data Links or Panel Links … that seems to be something different as far as I’m reading. I want one dashboard dropdown that will result in BOTH panels changing, but need two VAR to update at the same time …

========

• How are you trying to achieve it?
    not at all … cannot figure out how to accomplish this

• What happened?
    na

• What did you expect to happen?
    na

• Can you copy/paste the configuration(s) that you are having problems with?
    no

• Did you receive any errors in the Grafana UI or in related logs? If so, please tell us exactly what they were.
    no

• Did you follow any online instructions? If so, what is the URL?
    been looking at many Grafana doc pages

No help on this topic? If I can clarify, please let me know.

Welcome