InfluxDB - one table with two metrics

Hi,

I want to have a table showing information like this:
User Status Time
John Armed 26.05.2017 19:27:39
Kate Disarmed 26.05.2017 18:20:30
John Armed 25.05.2017 19:27:39

The first column is captured in table “Tex_Alarm_User”, the second column is captured in table “Tex_Alarm_Status”. The last column is a timestamp when the entries were changed.

This is what I have so far:

It shows the timestamp and the alarm status:

How do I add a second column to this overview?
I tried adding a new metric and selected table “Tex_Alarm_User”, but nothing was added to the table displayed.

I think one of the issues is maybe that I want information from two tables that are technically not linked to each other (no shared key field). The timestamp in each table is “practically” the same (milliseconds difference), but maybe we can do a select in table 2 with the timestamp of table 1?

I’m pretty new with Grafana, so my apologies if my question is considered to be a dumb one. A search on the forum did not produce any answers for me.

Thank you very much for your help!

Dries

1. Select multiple tables using regex. Here I have included the cpu and derivative tables:
  2. To add multiple fields, click the plus button and choose Fields → field:
1 Like

Hi @daniellee,

Thank you for your help! I didn’t realise you could use REGEX in that field.

This is what I currently have:

Which results in this table:

Some things I don’t understand:

• I now see additional columns, but both of them have the same values?
  • Why does it sometimes say “Tri”? Both the user and status are numerical values.
  • By default, Grafana uses “mean()”, but could it also display the value “as is”? I don’t want the mean.
  • Where can I rename the column headers (here mean and mean_1)? I see you have your columns given a meaningfull name.

Thanks!

Dries