Viewing JSON data from file in Grafana with or without DB?

I’m currently learning about Grafana and databases. I’m am not anywhere near proficient at either. What I have is a json file with a bunch of data in it that looks like this:

{“camera”: “192.168.131.26”, “data”:
[{“people_count”: {“enter”: 0, “leave”: 0}, “timestamp”: “2020-05-00 00:10:56.560010”},

Plus about 47000 more lines. :slight_smile:

I just want to visualize this data within a grafana dashboard, but I am not sure of the best way to do this. I thought about NoSQL using MongoDB and created all of the entries, but Grafana requires a subscription for this. Wondering if there is a way to get Grafana to just read directly from the file or any other suggested way of doing this, Again, I’m completely new to all of this and would really appreciate any direction. Thanks

1 Like

Have you investigated

Antony.

Or Grafana Infinity Datasource

Hey there @svetb , I decided to try infinity one first as it looked promising from the start. I was able to input my data into the field as shown by the examples. However, when I run the dashboard, it says there is no data to display. Have you used this plugin and have you had any issues like the one I am mentioning? Any thoughts on this? I know I am probably doing something wrong here. Thanks in advance.

Hey there, Antony. I’m tryng the Grafana Infinity Datasoure first, but will try the simpleJSON if I am unable ot get it to work. I appreciate the suggestion and will let you know what I find.

Hi @tdickson Here is gist of how you achieve this with infinity datasource.

[
  {
    "people_count": { "enter": 0, "leave": 0},
    "timestamp": "2020-05-01 00:10:56.5600010"
  },
  {
    "people_count": { "enter": 2, "leave": 0},
    "timestamp": "2020-05-01 00:12:56.5600010"
  },
  {
    "people_count": { "enter": 5, "leave": 2},
    "timestamp": "2020-05-01 01:10:56.5600010"
  }
]

1 Like