Time series from Matomo json api

Hi I am pretty new to Grafana so maybe someone can help me out here.
I have created a Dashboard using the Matomo API. Works great, counters, bar charts, tables. Looks fantastic. One thing I am having trouble with though is creating a graph.

I want to display the number of visits over a period of 30 days. Pretty straight forward. I can get the data out of Matomo no problem. Just like a do with the other visualizations. However when I choose time series I get an error ’ Data is missing a time field’. I tried many things but I just don’t seem to be able to get the dates on the x-axis.

This is the api output in json

2024-03-17_18-02

Seems like the date is not being recognized as a time format? I tried converting it but to no avail. Anyone any suggestions? It shouldn’t be too hard, just a date and a number :slight_smile:

Welcome @jjblake

The date also needs to be part of the json returned as key value

Thanks @yosiasz Ah so this cannot be used as a time series. Too bad. I did try another Matomo API response where date was indeed a value and that one did work. However I don’t have any use for that particular response . It’s the live traffice API but it only returns the last 100 visits and in my case they all happen within a handful of seconds :slight_smile:

Please post the actual json as json value not as a picture
Maybe we can do pivot

This is the exact same requests I am doing but from the Matomo demo site.

https://demo.matomo.cloud/?module=API&format=JSON&idSite=1&period=day&date=2024-01-18,today&method=API.get&filter_limit=-1&format_metrics=1&expanded=1&token_auth=anonymous

1 Like

ok let’s start with this jsonata appraoch which one can use with infinity plugin and work our way to the final data points as to what it should look like. this might not be the only way to go there might be other ways.