Time NaN (Not a Number) How to interpret/manipulate time format?

Hello,

Just got started with Grafana last week, currently investigating if this would be a good tool to use for my needs. I’m obviously an absolute noob so I have this question…

I have a JSON API webservice that I can query to retrieve some data. I’ve managed to create a data source and configure a dashboard to display this data. It shows me a workable set in a table format but the time column (readable string) is using a format that Grafana does not seem to recognize meaning that when I try to set the “Type” to “time” it only gives me a “NaN” for value of that column.

How can I manipulate the content of the field so that the time is recognized and can be plotted on a graph?

Thanks!

The format:

The NaN after setting the “Type” to “time”:

1 Like

Hi @valravn ,

Do you have control over the API endpoint? Can you change those values into unix epoch format first? Something about that formatting isn’t getting recognized or parsed correctly…

Hey Matt,

Unfortunately I do not, it is an API provided to me and several others who consume it for different purposes. I’ve talked to the person in charge of it and he also mentioned that the way he is generating the JSON would make it hard to change/add a different format. I thought that sounded odd but assume he might be using an external library and might not fully grasp it.

At any rate, if we assume that changing the endpoint is not possible then is there no way to fix this? There is no transformation we can run on a string value to parse/remove content? Is there no string replace option? No way to specify a date format so parsing will work? No way around this at all without changing the endpoint?

Thanks again, sorry if it sounds rough, just slightly surprised I didn’t find any way to manipulate this field :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi @valravn