Tempo: Add environment in Grafana Cloud UI Search

Hi,

I am new to tracing and I am wondering why there does not seem to be an environment field to search for in Tempo. I added these two variables to my traces:

const otel = new NodeSDK({
    resource: new Resource({
        [SemanticResourceAttributes.SERVICE_NAME]: APP_API_NAME,
        [SemanticResourceAttributes.DEPLOYMENT_ENVIRONMENT]: DEPLOYMENT_TIER,
    }),

I can not add the field or at least see the label “DEPLOYMENT_ENVIRONMENT”. As we have the name of the service for apps on 3 stages, it is hard to find the right one.

What is best practice for you here?

Do you have own tempo for all stages? Or how do you distinguish between?

Those variables look like resource attributes, so filter by resource tag (SemanticResourceAttributes.DEPLOYMENT_ENVIRONMENT should be deployment.environment) in the UI:

1 Like

ok it does… thanks @jangaraj. Maybe it needed some more time that the value was proposed.

The documentation sais we can extend the search but going to the settings in the datasource it sais “This data source was added by config and cannot be modified using the UI” So I can not modify it. This means I can also not add the rules to search logs from traces. Is this also an API thing here? Or is it simply not possible to modify datasource settings for Tempo in Grafana Cloud? That would be sad, I could never configure it to find logs from traces.

Just to clarify: you are using Grafana Cloud = someone is hosting “everything” for you (Grafana, Loki, Mimir, Tempo, …). That someone also precofigured Grafana for you - e.g. datasources to all provided services.
But you can misconfigure them as a standard curious rookie users. So safe options is have those preconfigured datasources in “read only”, so you can’t break them.