Need a beginner guideline for development of datasource plugin

Hi, i’m a newbie to grafana development.I know the basics of typescript and working with grafana Dashboard, recently i have been asked to develop a custom grafana datasource plugin.I have gone through this https://grafana.com/docs/grafana/latest/plugins/developing/datasources/ and https://github.com/grafana/simple-json-datasource ,but i am not able to properly grasp the concepts like which functions are present in which file,which function to call to make a particular change,etc.
If anyone would guide me in proper direction or provide any beginner friendly tutorial it would be a big help.

The tutorial is high level for beginner like me.Thanks for the Reply though.
Are there like “from scratch” guidelines or tutorials?

The plugin tutorials that @jangaraj linked to, such as Build a data source plugin and Build a panel plugin, are intended for beginners.

Do you mind sharing what parts of the current plugin tutorial you feel are too difficult right now? I’d like to know so that we can make it even easier to get started.

I’m facing difficulty after 5th section i.e Data Source Plugins.There is only mention of syntax of query() method but how to use that using a small example would be better or a YOUTUBE video where you guys are explaining this kind of stuff would be a lot better.
I’m not a professional developer,just a under-grad student,so i facing such silly issues.

1 Like

I might be able to create a Youtube video if time allows me. I’ve developed a few datasource plugins in the past. I like the tutorial document for multiples reasons

• uses Grafana v7.0.0. There’s a stuff that doesn’t work in v6.7.2.
  • uses grafana-toolkit to create the best practice datasource project from the template.
  • modernized with TypeScript and React for the UI components. No more messy Javascript, and Angular