Any way to provide default value when there's no data for table?

I’m a newbie with grafana so please be patient with me. I will try to fill out the template as much as I can.

• What Grafana version and what operating system are you using?
    Grafana v10.2.2

• What are you trying to achieve?
    I am using a table with the following query to get pod status and use it like an indicator:
    kube_pod_status_phase{namespace=“nuix-neo-tenant”, pod=~“investigate-deploy-.*”} == 1
    And depending on the value I set the cell colour. For example, Running is green, Failed is Red…etc.

The problem is before the pod exists, the table will show “No Data” and I want to see if there’s a way to have a default value so that I can actually colour it with some colour. Rather than just showing “No Data” with the default colour.

• How are you trying to achieve it?
    The problem is I don’t know how to achieve it. I know I can set the text with “No Value” field but that’s not really defaulting it to a value that can be used by value mapping.

I also read somewhere that some people uses “on() vector(0)” to set some default value but this didn’t work in my case.

• What happened?

• What did you expect to happen?

• Can you copy/paste the configuration(s) that you are having problems with?

• Did you receive any errors in the Grafana UI or in related logs? If so, please tell us exactly what they were.

• Did you follow any online instructions? If so, what is the URL?

Hello @ashiue01

I just tried using the doc and find a really easy way.
Go to value mapping, Add a mapping value then select special. From there you are able to pick up NULL value, which should work!

Regards

Hi @codi639 ,

Thanks a lot for the reply. I tried what you suggested that but it did not work for me. I even used both Null + NaN, then hit refresh button but still it shows no data and the colour is still the normal background.