Quick guide to Grafana URL parameters

Hello, I am new to Grafana, just done my first dashboards. My case is to show a Production Performance board in our factories.
I basically need to understand how to define parameters in the URL, and not least how to connect them to variables in my SQL scripts. I use onprem Grafana and a local MS SQL.
I have seen topics here, but it unfortunately didnt give me the overview.
Any help appreciated

The linking overview docs page is here: Linking overview | Grafana Labs

It sounds like you are looking for dashboard links: Dashboard links | Grafana Labs

The format for specifying template variables in a url is:

https://${you-domain}/path/to/your/dashboard?var-${template-variable1}=value1&var-${template-variable2}=value2

A real life example with three variables named datacenter, host and summarize: https://play.grafana.org/d/000000002/influxdb-templated?orgId=1&var-datacenter=Africa&var-host=All&var-summarize=1m

Visiting this link will set the three variables that you can see at the top of the page:

Those variables then have to be used in a query to actually have any effect. Here is an example of an sql query using variables (host and summarize) by putting a dollar sign in front of the variable name:

SELECT
  $__timeGroup(createdAt,'$summarize') as time,
  avg(value) as value,
  hostname as metric
FROM 
  grafana_metric
WHERE
  $__timeFilter(createdAt) AND
  measurement = 'logins.count' AND
  hostname IN($host)
GROUP BY $__timeGroup(createdAt,'$summarize'), hostname
ORDER BY 1

When a variable value is changed either by changing the URL or by choosing a value in a dropdown then a query to MSSQL is triggered and the visualization in Grafana is updated with the new data.

1 Like

Thank you Daniel,
I run Grafana local towards MS SQL, using this URL e.g.:
localhost:3000/d/W2cZyXdnk/silo-history-dashboard-ver-24-okt-2021?orgId=1&var-unit=3021
My variable “unit” should be transferred to $unit
My SQL look like:
SELECT