Question about a DB for Grafana

I don’t know where to ask this so I will try here. I am sorry if this is not the place for this. If so please let me know where I can ask this.

I am new to Grafana. I know some PostgreSQL but haven’t used Prometheus or InfluxDB.
I watched a few tutorial videos from Grafana and I see that it uses Prometheus mostly. It also seems that InfluxDB is mentioned often. I am not familiar with Prometheus or InfluxDB.

I am considering using PostgreSQL to do some visualization with Grafana as I used PostgreSQL before.

Could you tell me why I may want to consider using Prometheus instead of PostgreSQL? (or using InfluxDB)

If it helps, the data size is not very big and will not grow much bigger, and doesn’t need to scale.
The main purpose is to analyze past system usage data with some time intervals (ex: weekly, monthly, quarterly, yearly) along with Grafana visualization. Data will be collected weekly from multiple systems.

Real-time monitoring is not yet in the scope but it may be added later.

I am asking this, because I’d like to know if there are any restrictions or limits for visualizing with Grafana if I use PostgreSQL instead of Prometheus (or InfluxDB).

I’d appreciate your answers from your expertise.

Thank you.

PostgreSQL is a relational database.
Prometheus and Influx are time series databases.

Time series databases are ideal for Grafana. Since your data contains a time field, I think you will want to use a time series database.

How will you collect the data each week? Do you have any plans for how you will get that data into a database?

I’d like to add to what @grant2 said, and also make a counterpoint.

While timeseries databases are a really good match for Grafana, they’re not the right hammer for every nail - even when it comes to timeseries data.

If you want to do joins across tables for example, you’ll generally want to use a relational database.