Implement AngularJS Material switch in panel plugin

Grafana version: 6.0.0

Hi all. First of all thanks for taking the effort to read this question.

I am new to Grafana, AngularJS and Javascript in general. I am trying to implement an AngularJS Material switch demo in my Grafana plugin, without luck. The switch is simply not appearing.

After following the Clock Panel example with success, I stripped down the ctrl.ts file to a bare minimum. I got it to build with yarn and successfully print a test string in a panel i.e. my first own plugin. Now, I want to implement the AngularJS Material switch.

After spending a lot of time failing I found this blogpost. So I implemented the example and have ended up with this code:

switch_ctrl.ts

import { PanelCtrl } from 'grafana/app/plugins/sdk';
import _ from 'lodash';

import '../node_modules/angular-aria/angular-aria.js';
import '../node_modules/angular-animate/angular-animate.js';
import '../node_modules/angular-material/angular-material.js';
import '../node_modules/angular-material/angular-material-mocks.js';
import '../node_modules/angular-material/angular-material.css';

export class SwitchCtrl extends PanelCtrl {
    static templateUrl = 'partials/module.html';

constructor($scope, $injector) {
      super($scope, $injector);
    }
}

partials/module.html

<md-switch>SWITCH</md-switch>

The AngularJS instructions show you can install the libs with npm, so that’s what I did and referenced those libs. But after adding the panel, there is no switch. Only the text.

In the element explorer, I can see the switch. Also, I can see it is being styled by “some” CSS:

However, it looks nothing like it is supposed to, if you check the rendered source code of a switch.