How to display sensor data without timestamp in csv format inside a time series panel?

Dear Grafana Community,
I am new to Grafana and have a hard time displaying my sensor data the way i want. I guess i just miss something. Any help is appreciated!

• What Grafana version and what operating system are you using?
    Grafana Cloud (free plan)

• What are you trying to achieve?
    Want to display sensor data recorded at a fixed sampling rate (thus known record interval) and known starting date/time of the data acquisition. Data is saved into a .csv file without timestamp data. To keep file size as low as possible i have chosen not to include timestamp data into the csv file. In case one knows the sampling rate and the start/end time of the recording, there is no need to timestamp each individual value.

• How are you trying to achieve it?
    I import .csv files using the CSV plugin into Grafana.

• What happened?
    I can access my data inside the CSV files but grafana can display my data only in table format as my csv files do not contain any timestamps.

• What did you expect to happen?
    I expected i can display my csv data also as time series as my files contain sensor values recorded at a fixed sampling rate, by which my data is timeseries data by definition.

• Can you copy/paste the configuration(s) that you are having problems with?
    My problem is that i can not find any way to tell grafana what was the time interval between each data record (aka sampling rate) and when the first value has been recorded. I think this should be really easy to do, i guess i just miss how to do it.

I understand i could import my csv into a time based DB first and use that as a source for grafana, however sensor data does not change over time and thus i do not see the point why should i use a larger stack than what would be absolutely needed.

Welcome

Depends which visualization you are using

If there is not time stamp then don’t use time series, just use Bar chart.