Grafana out of memory issue

Hi team, I’m new to Grafana. I’m trying to create alert rules on Grafana with TimescaleDB data source, My alert is a basic one which takes last 12 hours data from TimescaleDB hypertable and group on one column to find the sum (find attachment) and if it goes beyond 4 raise an alert.
But when I create this rule and data flows into the source table grafana starts consuming memory without any limit and garbage collection and goes beyond 16GB and fails at some point and restart the pod. The error is Out of memory error.
Please let me know what am I doing wrong.

1 Like

Welcome @krishnaprasadas1

how much ram do you have on the server running grafana. what happens if you ran the same query outside of grafana and how much mem does it consume when running it outside grafana

It has ~32GB ram I guess (I don’t have the exact number with me now since its handled by another team) but I can see the usage goes beyond 20GB from the attached image, The data size in the timescaleDB is a total of ~400MB (2 million rows). I just tried the query in psql but its using minimal memory only less than a GB. What Im confused is why the memory goes on increasing and not coming down at any point of time until it throws OOM error. I tried the alert rule with reduce expression and without reduce but no luck.
One more thing is that, the same sized data is being used in another grafana with InfluxDB data source there it runs perfectly without much memory footprint(~200MB only). PFA alert rule created for influxDB.

1 Like

ok can you now please try the same query in your basic bar chart and not within an alert and see if it pegs the mem?

trying to eliminate the issue being with alerts + TimescaleDB

Tried the same query in dashboard but its just using around 350mb of memory.

1 Like

But did you also somehow implement for it to run every minute for 1 hour snd do a reduce transformation for the last sum > 4?

1 Like