Grafana - issue connecting to InfluxDB 2.0.3 (InfluxQL)

Hi. I’m having an issue when trying to connect to my InfluxDB 2.0.3 instance through Grafana. When attempting to connect using InfluxQL, I get Network Error: (400). When attempting to connect with Flux, the connection works and I can query my buckets, so it doesn’t appear to be an issue with connecting to InfluxDB.

This is on a fresh test install setup specifically to try out Grafana and InfluxDB. I’ve followed this documentation on using Grafana alongside InfluxDB, using the InfluxQL tab’s instructions.

It is very possible that I’m misunderstanding something (I’m new to both Grafana and Influx), but this is how I’ve entered my information:

Query Language: InfluxQL
URL: <influx_url> (tested working with Flux query language)

User (Basic Auth Details): kaden
Password (Basic Auth Details): Auth token (retrieved from InfluxDB > Load Data > Tokens > kaden's Token

Database (InfluxDB Details): Bucket ID (not name) (retrieved from InfluxDB > Load Data > <bucket_id>'s id)
Username (InfluxDB Details: kaden
Password (InfluxDB Details): Same auth token used for Basic Auth Details
HTTP Method: GET

It’s very possible that I’m misunderstanding something, but I’ve tried many combinations of usernames, passwords, I’ve reinstalled quite a few times, but yet nothing. Hopefully I can get some guidance here, thanks in advance :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes:

2 Likes

please ensure that the network is reachable and reset your passwort and try it again

I’ve confirmed that the network is reachable - as I said, connecting using Flux instead of InfluxQL works fine. I’ve tried both over my public-facing domain, and using the Docker container hostname (http://influxdb:8086), both work for Flux and don’t for InfluxQL.

I’ve reset my database numerous times trying to get this to work, and through then I’ve used different password/usernames, still nothing.