Confusion regarding repeating rows, variables, panel per-instance etc

Hi, I am very new to Grafana (and Prometheus) and am having a really hard time working out how to do something which I thought would be very simple.

I’m using node_exporter, prometheus and grafana (v6.3.5). I would like to create a dashboard that has one row per instance, one panel in that row, that panel being a bandwidth graph.

So, first step was to create a bandwidth graph for one instance. A Prometheus query that looks like:

rate(node_network_receive_bytes_total{instance="192.168.80.22:9100",device="bond0"}[1m])*8

(and a matching one for transmit_bytes_total, but I’ll omit those for simplicity)

Great, that works, but I don’t want to manually add a panel for each instance. I’d like it to just get the list of instances from Prometheus.

So, I added a dashboard variable called “instance”:

label_values(node_network_iface_id{device="bond0"}, instance)

idea being, that gives me a list of instances that have a bond0 device. That is set to “Include All option”.

The row is now set to repeat over the “instance” variable, and the query string is set to:

rate(node_network_receive_bytes_total{instance=~"[[instance]]",device="bond0"}[1m])*8

All good so far, three different bandwidth graphs. Although I will say that as a complete newbie it took me quite a while to realise I needed to put =~"[[instance]]" there and not simply ="$instance".

Anyway, now I’d like to have a more descriptive panel title like “somenode - Traffic - bond0”. I have used IP addresses as my instance names in the Prometheus config. Possibly that was an error, which I can still revisit, but conceptually it seemed to me that I should be able to add another dashboard variable that is like:

Name: nodename
Query: label_values(node_uname_info{instance=~"[[instance]]"}, nodename)