Summarize Boolean variable per month

• What Grafana version and what operating system are you using?
    10.0.3, running as Home Assistant add-on

• What are you trying to achieve?
    For a boolean variable (HA: binary_sensor), summarize for each month how many hours the variable was true.

Note: I’m new to grafana, have been able to build some basic dashboards showing graphs that I find useful. However, figuring out how to do this … I don’t even know where to begin as it seems not a simple query but rather a sequence of steps that needs doing.

Thank you so much for any indications on where to look / how to approach.

Welcome @robdejonge

If your datasource is InfluxDB and you are using Flux, see here: Duration of switch ON time in hour_minutes_seconds - #14 by grant2

Hi Grant - thank you for the response. I am indeed using InfluxDB as a datasource. Pardon my ignorance, but what do you mean by “and you are using Flux” ?

The above should explain the difference.

TLDR; InfluxDB has 2 “languages”. Flux a scripting engine, and influxQL an SQL like syntax.

@grant2 and other engineers like me on the industrial world have found Flux “unleashes” the full power of time series databases for complex and specific use cases. influxQL works great if you need something more like a relational database.

1 Like

Thanks to @grant2 and @fercasjr for the comments. For my use case, diving into learning another query language is perhaps a bit overkill. Especially given my rudimentary-only knowledge of InfluxDB and Grafana.

I did read through the thread linked to above and tried out that ‘Discrete’ plugin. That displays a “it was in this state for int% of the time selected” under the graph, which I can turn into a (very) rough estimate of time spent in a certain state. It’s a rather manual process, but sometimes those save the most time :slight_smile:

Thanks for your comments!