Setting up configs for .ini file through cli

Hi, I’m a newbie to all this so please bear with me. I’m trying to setup alerts for Grafana and I’ve managed to changed smtp configs in grafana.ini and have working alerts but is there a way to have the same thing done via the CLI? I’m trying to automate this step by having a script that would change variables in .ini file instead of manually opening up the .ini file and changing things.
I would really appreciate the help on this.

Are you familiar with sed (as a rough and ready but probably workable
solution) or a configuration management tool such as puppet or ansible (which
will definitely do what you want, but has more of a learning curve)?

Antony.

I am familiar with sed and I tried it but I’m having trouble with \n in the .ini file. For example, if I want to change enabled = false to true under smtp I’ve tried using sed -i 's/[smtp]\nenabled = false/[smtp]\nenabled = true/' /etc/grafana/grafana.ini but this doesnt make any changes to it.

sed is inherently a line editor - in other words, you can only match and
modify things which exist on a single line. You can substitute multiple lines
into the output for one line in the input, but you cannot match multiple lines
of input.

awk is an alternative which can match multiple lines, or there are workarounds
such as choosing a character which you know cannot possibly exist in your
input file (I like ¬ for example), and using tr to convert all \n to ¬, use sed
to perform the substitutions you need, and then tr to convert ¬ back into \n
afterwards.

If you find yourself having to do this sort of thing, though, it’ll probably
work until you realise some files don’t have the “enabled” line directly under
the “[smtp]” heading, but a bit further down, and then you wish you were using
a configuration management tool such as puppet or ansible to start with :slight_smile:

Antony.

Maybe using environment variables would be a more straightforward solution?