Missing Module.js in SQLDB plugin

Hi all,

I was attempting to install the SQLDB plugin (to make my Grafana installation work with Postgresql), but I couldn’t and noticed in the console a file was being attempted to load - module.js. It was missing from the plugin directory, obviously, and checked the other plugin directories to see why they work and this one doesn’t. It checks out, module.js was simply missing, so I decided to attempt to install your example datasource plugin:

However, even there the module.js file is simply missing, and the documentation is being rather vague about the module.js file (or perhaps it’s simply because I have never worked with such an environment before, hmmm…) - or rather, files… Apparently these files are the entry point of the plugin, but what I do wonder is why are they missing from the example plugin, even? Do I need to build it myself somehow? If so, I’m rather short of time at the moment, because I’m nearing my deadline - I do not have time to investigate all the necessary steps. I was hoping it’d be a drag-and-drop process (of course, things never work out that easily :stuck_out_tongue: )

Anyhow, I’m sorry if this question has been answered before or if it’s a rookie question. You have my thanks for reading this far either way! :slight_smile:

How did you install the plugin?

• Here is a guide to installing plugins manually.
  • Here is how to install the SimpleJSON plugin via the CLI tool.

There is a module.js file for the SimpleJSON data source : https://github.com/grafana/simple-json-datasource/blob/master/dist/module.js

so I’m not really sure why it is missing in your case.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply!

I installed both plugins manually by downloading their respective github projects as a .zip file, then extracting them into the plugins folder. I should state me attempting to install SimpleJSON was merely a test.

The SQLDB datasource plugin:
https://github.com/sraoss/grafana-sqldb-datasource