Humble request for a stock/built-in wind rose graph

Hi there,

I hope you’re all well in these crazy times. I (like many people) have built myself a DIY weather station, to learn about electronics (and to a much lesser extent, programming). I really like Grafana for the ease of use in graphing my collected sensor readings. That said, Grafana has one major drawback over alternatives like Node Red, in that it does not have an in-built wind direction/wind rose panel included in the stock installation.

Now I know that there’s a “Fatcloud Wind Rose” plugin for Grafana (and I eventually got it working, despite it’s lack of updates, support and helpful documentation). Unfortunately, a recent update of Grafana itself seems to have broken the link between the Wind rose panel and Grafana on a local Raspberry Pi installation.

I’m afraid that I am just a humble beginner in my programming ability, and while I have a rudimentary understanding of SQL and Python, I do not have the JavaScript and other language skills to use the Plotly panel or debug other plugins. In fact, most of the plotly documentation does not describe how to use it in Grafana’s Plotly panel interface, so I freely admit that after hours of searching for the answer, I’m still utterly clueless.

Since weather stations are probably one of the most common types of IOT/Arduino/Raspberry Pi projects, I ask (kindly) that Grafana’s development team include a wind rose panel like the line graphs and other included panels? Third party plugins are clearly not accounting for updates to Grafana, offer little-to-no support, and are almost universally, poorly documented.

If the Grafana Dev team chooses to heed my request, I only ask for four features of a wind rose panel to make it useful for as many people as possible:

1. That it’s kept up to date with Grafana and documented with examples.