Extract log with labels, also extract metrics with different labels

Hello,

I’ve been through the docs, trawled the forum and searched the web, I feel I must be being a bit dim… I have logs from a pfSense firewall being sent via syslog, Loki + Grafana all working fine. I’m new to this, really pleased with the investment in learning, decided to add some complexity and have come unstuck.

I’m parsing and extracting geoip data (working fine) and then refining down the labels to send with the log (also working fine), but when I added a metrics stage at the end, they appeared, but with the labels set, I have been stratching my head for two days trying to figure out how to create metrics with either no labels, or preferrably a couple of labels. I can have metrics, no labels but the log entry doesn’t get sent, or the log does get sent and the metrics have a load of labels.

I’m hoping someone here can help me with a couple of questions, and sincere apologies in advance if this has been answered on the forum and I have failed to find the answer!

• can I have a single selector, with a regex to pull out into the extracted map, perform a geoip lookup to add labels (labeldrop some of the unneeded geoip labels) and then create a couple of metrics from other named groups from the regex?
  • is it possible to have two separate match selector entries in the promtail log, where the selector is the same as a separate pipeline stage?

I’ve tried different orders, dropping labels etc. but maybe there is a trick to that I’m too inexperienced to appreciate?

Thanks in advance for any guidance on this, it doesn’t feel that I’m trying to do something magical (parse a log line: extract geo data, clean up labels and create a couple of metrics) but maybe I’m asking too much of Loki/Promtail?

Config snip (I know the regex has more groups than are used here):

pipeline_stages:
      - match:
          selector: '{job="syslog", application="filterlog"}'
          pipeline_name: extrator