Loki 0.4.0 querying Metrics From Logs

Dear Grafana Community!
I am quite new in the world of Grafana and I am looking for showing metrics from log content parsed with Promtail to labels.
Did I get it right from the newsletter of the Loki 0.4.0 that via new Prometheus compatible API it is possible to do it?

If it is not necessary I would like to keep the tools I am using as minimum it is possible: Promtail, Loki, Grafana.

My use case would be to get out/parse metrics from log lines and show on Grafana. E.g. in every 10 seconds a new log line is appearing in log file showing some characteristics of the system like free memory, network usage, etc.
I am already able to parse the log lines with Promtail as labels and send to Loki.
Is is possible to reference only the labels by its name to show the values over time?

Thanks,
Tamás

It is possible with Grafana 6.4 - you add Loki as a prometheus data source. See this video for a demo - around 1:30.

Support in the UI in Grafana for metrics from Loki logs just got merged: https://github.com/grafana/grafana/pull/20158 and will be included in the next release (6.6) in January.

There are packages and docker containers for the latest master build if you want to test it out now: https://grafana.com/grafana/download/6.6.0-687351e1pre

Hi Daniellee,
Thanks for the response! I have also checked the video but as far as I have understood the example it is possible to count the number of logs/second matching on a query.
My use case would be to show the value of the label I am choosing e.g.:
2019-11-18 17:39:01.000 memory_free 15
2019-11-18 17:38:01.000 memory_free 14

If I add to the Query section e.g. {memory_free=“15”} it selects the right entry from the Loki but the return object will contain 2 entries:

• stream object with all of the labels using : “” form
  • values array of timestamp and whole log line.

How can I add to the graph the labels from stream object? :slight_smile:

Thanks and best regards,
Tamás