Error in graph panel when displaying stacked series

Hi, was wondering if others have seen this when displaying stacked series using staircase mode.

The first picture is without “stack” option enabled and shows three “sprinkler zones” switching on for a period and then off. This looks as I expected.

But when I stack the series (to show more clearly multiple zones being on at the same time) then it incorrectly shows a diagonal “artifact” even though the previous zone still has a zero value.

It looks as though, the stacked graph is not adhering to the “staircase” option but rather just connecting the two graphical co-ordinates. The InfluxDb query is simply “SELECT status FROM “station” WHERE $timeFilter GROUP BY name_tag” with datapoints as either 0 for “off” and 1 for “on”.

Is this a known problem or something I’ve got wrong in the config ? I’m pretty new to this so appreciate any pointers.

that looks strange, try with fill(0) in your query and make sure the interval aligns

Torkel, Thanks for the response.

If I change the query to the following (I used fill(previous) rather than fill(0) as the previous state should continue until the next new measurement):

SELECT mean(“status”) FROM “station” WHERE $timeFilter GROUP BY time($interval), name_tag fill(previous)

Then I get the correct graph without the diagonal artefacts but only when viewing a relatively small time interval.