SSL setup for Grafana in Docker

• What Grafana version and what operating system are you using?

Grafana: v10.3.3

• What are you trying to achieve?

Setup SSL certificate.

• How are you trying to achieve it?

I’m following this guide : Set up Grafana HTTPS for secure web traffic | Grafana documentation

• What happened?

My grafana setup in docker does not have the paths mentioned in the guide. I’m using bind for persistent storage.

• What did you expect to happen?

• Can you copy/paste the configuration(s) that you are having problems with?

This is my docker inspect for the container.

Docker compose:

I’m fairly new to docker. Please let me know what am I missing.

as you can see the key/crt file locations are in

/etc/grafana/grafana.key
/etc/grafana/grafana.crt

so maybe generate these files in your current OS then point to them in the compose folder volumes section?

dump them in /home/Grafana_Storage/ssl/
then

volumes:
  - '/home/Grafana_Storage/ssl/:/etc/grafana/'

maybe something like this?

1 Like

Hey, @manthanbhavsar26 welcome to the community.

You should use some volumes in your container to give it access for the public certificate and key certificate, and then set them up on environment docker options with GF_SERVER_CERT_FILE and GF_SERVER_CERT_KEY.

Quote from the docs: (Configure Grafana | Grafana documentation)

Override configuration with environment variables - To override an option:
GF_<SectionName>_<KeyName>

And about the options for certificates:

[server]

cert_file

Path to the certificate file (if protocol is set to https or h2).

cert_key

Path to the certificate key file (if protocol is set to https or h2).

Hope it helps.

1 Like

Thank you for the response. I’ll try that.

Also, how to I change the port to 443 so I don’t have to use :3000 with the URL?