Is there a backend in the open source version of Grafana?

Hi.
I’m sorry for the dumb question I’m about to ask, but consider that I’m very new to Grafana and I want to know if it fits my use case.

I’m looking forward in building custom dashboards for each user registered on a system which uses Elasticsearch for storing data.
The system does not have an API from which you can fetch the data. It just stores the data in Elasticsearch.

My goal is to present a custom dashboard for each user registered in the system.
However, since the user would NOT be allowed to interact with the Elasticsearch datasource itself (so not be able to run any query by tampering with the dashboard) I am looking for a component which can provide a layer for handling this kind of situation.
Also, the user would NOT be allowed to modify the dashboard view itself.

So, my (dumb) question is: is the open source version of Grafana only a “front-end” dashboard that communicates with Elasticsearch by directly running queries to fetch the data it needs, or is there also some kind of “back-end” that handles the requests?

@ginoliuz

Not a dumb question at all! I do not personally use Elasticsearch, but I believe it’s just like any other datasource (Prometheus, SQL, InfluxDB, etc.). Grafana OSS (or Grafana Cloud) is used as a “front end” to run the queries of that datasource.

The users’ interaction with your Elasticsearch query would be limited to the time picker dropdown or any variables you configure.

1 Like

Hi.
Thank you for your reply.

I still don’t understand a thing.
You said that “Grafana OSS (or Grafana Cloud) is used as a “front end” to run the queries of that datasource”.

So, considering it’s the front end (the dashboard) that builds the queries to send to the datasource (in this case elasticsearch), how is it possible that the user won’t be able to tamper with the dashboard and launch a query by himself to send to elasticsearch?