Grafana via Promtail is showing intitial log content but then is not updating when new recs are added

Hi. I am brand new to Grafana and Promtail / Loki. I am testing with a Quarkus Getting Started app with logging enabled. I have Promtail:latest running in a container.

My log file is at ./var/log/app.log and whatever is in it when the Promtail container starts shows in the Grafana Loki explorer. All good.

However, if I do something in my Quarkus app that adds records to the myapp.log file, those new records do not appear when I click the Run Query button in the Loki explorer. If I restart the Promtail container, and click the Run Query button, those new records appear.

My config.yaml is in ./promtail/config.yaml

My docker compose file in my Quarkus project:

version: '3'
services:
  promtail:
    image: grafana/promtail:main
    volumes:
      - ./promtail:/etc/promtail
      - ./var/log:/var/log
      - ./promtail/config.yaml:/etc/promtail/config.yaml
    command: -config.file=/etc/promtail/config.yaml

The .promtail/config.yaml (API key truncated here)

server:
  http_listen_port: 0
  grpc_listen_port: 0

positions:
  filename: /etc/promtail/positions.yaml

client:
  url: https://765067:glc_eyJvIjoiMTAxM...c3QtMSJ9fQ==@logs-prod-026.grafana.net/api/prom/push
  basic_auth:
      username: 'any-string'
      password: 'glc_eyJvIjoiMTAxM...c3QtMSJ9fQ=='
scrape_configs:
- job_name: system
  static_configs:
  - targets:
      - localhost
    labels:
      job: varlogs
      __path__: /var/log/myapp.log

The Promtail container log has this is the final few lines, and no errors:

getting-started-promtail-1  | level=info ts=2023-12-14T05:39:51.444173471Z caller=filetargetmanager.go:361 msg="Adding target" key="/var/log/myapp.log:{job=\"varlogs\"}"
getting-started-promtail-1  | level=info ts=2023-12-14T05:39:51.453864013Z caller=filetarget.go:313 msg="watching new directory" directory=/var/log