Depict only hours of the day on Bar Chart

Hello Grafana community,

I am a beginner in Grafana, and I need your help if possible. The version of Grafana I use is v8.5.2 and my data source is Postgresql. I am trying to create a bar chart in which the hours of the day will be depicted on the x axis (01:00, 02:00, …, 23:00, 00:00). However, every time I change the period, I get the dates and the hours instead of just taking 24 values. Additionally, on the y axis, I want to find the average for each specific hour for the chosen period. Below, you will find the queries and expressions I made.

query_1:SELECT date_trunc(‘hour’, d.time) AS “time”, avg(d.trend) as “value_trend”
FROM
(SELECT
table1 AS “time”,
table1.value_up - table1.value_down AS “trend”
FROM table1, (
SELECT
table1.time_stamp,
max(version) AS “version”
FROM table1
WHERE
val_no = 1 and
$__timeFilter(table1.time_stamp)
GROUP BY time_stamp
ORDER BY 1
) AS max_version
WHERE
table1.time_stamp = max_version.time_stamp and
table1.version = max_version.version and
val_no = 1 and
$__timeFilter(table1.time_stamp)
) d
GROUP by date_trunc(‘hour’, d.time)
HAVING ABS(avg(d.trend)) >= ${val_threshold}
ORDER BY 1

query_2: SELECT
date_trunc(‘hour’, time_stamp) AS “time”,
avg(total_value3) AS “total_value3”
FROM table2
WHERE
$__timeFilter(time_stamp)
GROUP BY date_trunc(‘hour’, time_stamp)
ORDER BY 1
and the following expressions: 1) A: $query_2>0, 2) B: $query_1>0 3) C: $A == $B

Hey guys, can anybody help me with this?

Hi again, I found the average for each hour of the day, but the result I get is not what I wanted. On the x axis, instead of having 24 values (the hours of the day), the below outcome is returned:

Does anybody have any idea why this is happening?

Welcome @theodorgeorgakis

Make sure to read postgres documentation on dstetime functions. What you want is not date_trunc but date_part

1 Like

Thank you very much for your response, @yosiasz!