Promtail/Loki/Grafana GeoIP questions

Hello,

I’ve successfully been able to get the GeoIP promtail pipeline stage working against the source IPs for my pfSense firewall logs which raised two questions for me:

1- Is it possible to do geolocation for both source IPs and destination IPs?
2- If the above is possible, is it possible to, (and if so) how could I rename the source IP geolocation labels so that I could differentiate between geolocation data for the source IPs and destination IPs?

Additionally, is it possible to do accomplish the geolocation data at query time rather than as a promtail stage? I just was thinking if this is possible, it may be easier to accomplish the above this way maybe (as well as less promtail processing, even if very minimal hit due to this).

Thanks!

I just asked this question to Grot (the AI bot on Grafana’s site). I’m not very technical so I hope it helps.

1. Yes, it is possible to perform geolocation for both source IPs and destination IPs in Promtail. You can configure multiple instances of the geoip pipeline stage in your Promtail configuration to perform geolocation lookups for both source and destination IPs. Each instance of the geoip stage can have its own set of labels to store the geolocation data.

For example, you can configure one geoip stage to perform a lookup on the source IP and add labels like source_geoip_country_name, source_geoip_city, etc. Similarly, you can configure another geoip stage to perform a lookup on the destination IP and add labels like destination_geoip_country_name, destination_geoip_city, etc.

1. To differentiate between geolocation data for source IPs and destination IPs, you can use different label names for each type of IP. For example, you can use source_geoip_country_name and destination_geoip_country_name to store the country names for the source and destination IPs, respectively. Similarly, you can use different label names for other geolocation data like city, region, etc.