Interpreting a single field value as a list of values

Hi, I’m new to Grafana (and inexperienced with databases in general) so I apologize in advance if this is a stupid/poorly-worded question. I work in a physics lab and one of the tools we use has built-in support for automatically writing experiment results to an influxdb database, but I’m having trouble manipulating the data for visualization in grafana.

I’m using an influxdb datasource and right now my query returns data of the form:

Time dataset pyon
t1 x [x1 x2 …]
t1 y [y1 y2 …]
t2 x [x1 x2 …]
t2 y [y1 y2 …]

Where x and y are string values (the names of the datasets) and xi, yi are numbers (could be integers or floats).

What I’d like to do is, for each t, select the list of values (‘pyon’) for x and y and plot them against each other (I don’t need to do a multi-series plot - one plot for each t is fine). I think I can figure out the group-by-time part of this question, although any tips are welcome, and the plotting seems fairly straightforward (using plotly), so I think my problem boils down to this: how do I extract the lists of values in the ‘pyon’ field and treat them as individual points?

Unfortunately I don’t have control over the data source, so there isn’t anything I can do on the influxdb side to structure the data in a more grafana-friendly format.

Thanks in advance for your help!

On the fact of it (I’m very happy to be shonw wrong by someone with more Influx
/ Grafana skills than I have), I think that’s simply not possible between
Grafana and Influx directly.

For one thing you do not have simple time series data (your “pyon” field is not
simple values, but instead each enttry is an array of values), and for another
thing you’re looking for an X-Y plot rather than a time-series graph (which is
what Grafana does best).

You might be able to use telegraf as a re-writer by telling it to read from
your existing Influx data source, manipulate the numbers into a Grafana-