I need a sanity check

I am new to Grafana and hope I’ve put this in the right category.

I am implementing Grafana to display data from a solar power system. It does a great job with all the time series data I collect but I have a few small problems.

Before using Grafana I displayed my system status and statistics in a small web page that showed min/max/current for many values. However it also displays a few calculated values.

The important calculation is to analyze net charge rate (positive or negative) and then predict the time it will take to fully charge the batteries or, if discharging, when the generator will start to maintain a minimum state of charge. This number is not a time series type of value, it is always a “current” value or two. I plan to enable a JSON datasource to provide the value.

A second, more time series type of calculation, is to display the most recent daybreak and nightfall time. This is calculated on the time of day when my solar battery charger wakes up because light is falling on the panels and and the time when it decides it’s dark again. These times are not the same as astronomy based sunrise and sunset. The database time series records includes the charger status value so this is derived from time data but gets complicated when the sun is still shining as nightfall is yesterdays value not today’s. Not impossible using a SQL query but very complex. A few lines of procedural code is simpler.

My question is:(are)
Is this the type of data that is consistent with the proper use of Grafana or am I trying to jam a square peg into a round hole?
Is the JSON data source the right tool.for the job?
Am I crazy to consider it?
Or is there another way to do it?

I care more about resolving the time prediction problem than the daybreak problem.

I’ve solved this problem. I discovered an Ajax panel plugin that does what I need. I’m adding a panel with the values I want to display.

1 Like