How To Customize Login Screen for Grafana

Hello,

I am a rather new developer and I am struggling to see how to customize the login title and logo. I saw here that I would need to fork, edit, and build with the changes. Where do these changes need to be made and what languages must I know to do so?

You would need to know some HTML, CSS and maybe some JavaScript/TypeScript and a bit of AngularJS. You will also need to know some Git to keep your fork up to date with new changes and be handle to any merge conflicts if new changes conflict with your changes.

The instructions for building Grafana are here: http://docs.grafana.org/project/building_from_source/

The frontend files are located in the public subdirectory and when you run the Grunt build script, the CSS and Javascript files are generated in the public_gen directory. So do not make your changes in the public_gen directory as they will get overwritten.

1 Like

Thank you so much @daniellee I will look into that.

Hi Danielle,

i dont find public_gen directory anymore. whats the process of customising frontend ? i m using latest source code 5.3.0…

To everyone seeking answers , here is my blog on the same !
Gathered information from multiple sources and here you go

IMPORTANT POINT:

— — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — Location /usr/share/grafana/public/img contains all the images including our {Favicon , grafana logo , background image,grafana-logo-wordmark} by the names {fav32.png , grafana_icon.svg , heatmap_bg_test.svg,grafana_typelogo.svg } respectively. You can directly drop your own images here and make the login page look yours. But I got a no. of complaints from the users that the changes took place properly in their localhost /server but when a remote user tried to access the same Grafana page, they can’t see these changes happening. So to avoid these bugs follow me in this blog . — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — — —

HERE WE GO STEP BY STEP :